Living below the line.

by funnylittlestories

I stumbled upon this awareness/campaign about living in extreme poverty and a fight against it. Thinking about it made me realize how fortunate and blessed I am with options and things I have in my life. Many people in this world are barely making enough to feed their family. I read on some of their stories and recipes on the website and decided to take on this challenge and attempt to live below the line. The campaign encourages and challenges people to live on £1 a day for food for 5 days (29th of April to the 3rd of May). Just last night, I spent way over £5 just on dinner and I didnt even hesitate. Those who live or have lived in London know that it is definitely going to be tough but I am looking forward to it. Due to the restricted budget, I have to plan my meals and buy my groceries ahead of time. No more eating out for the next 5 days for sure. I went grocery shopping today and bought essential food items that included: rice (yes, Asians love rice), pasta, tomato concentrate, bananas, porridge, mix vegetables and a packet of digestives biscuits as a snack. The total amounted to approximately £4 and I still have a bit to spare to buy some eggs. It was a struggle in the grocery store as there were so many things that I wanted but couldn’t. This made me realized that everything I have been enjoying is such a gift and not given. The money that I am saving from this five days are going straight into my fundraising attempt for my half marathon run for UNICEF. You can help support my efforts by donating as well or you can also challenge yourself to do it!

To find out more information about this campaign, check out this website :
https://www.livebelowtheline.com/uk-en-thechallenge

To donate to my fundraising efforts for UNICEF:
http://fundraise.unicef.org.uk/MyPage/Michelle-Liew-Run-with-me

Will keep you posted on how it goes!

20130427-142909.jpg

Oh and a potato too! Hmmm

