This Place Was A Shelter.

by funnylittlestories

I fell in love the first time I saw him live. Both times that I have seen him, he played in intimate small places in downtown LA. Today, I was blown away again. A friend and I went to see Olafur Arnalds, an Icelandic multi-instrumentalist performed in an old church in Hackney. The acoustics were amazing and every sound was amplified and clear. When I heard the first song, I felt a little overwhelmed. There is this strange and funny thing about memory; some tunes, scents or tastes can evoke memories and past feelings (some that you have decided not to think about). His melody had that effect on me. A flashback of moments with someone who was very special to me appeared in my head. I closed my eyes, embraced that moment and let it pass. The night continued with him performing songs from his new album “For Now I Am Winter” with dark shadows and coordinated lights flashing behind. It was captivating and beautiful. He has definitely moved on from the “Living Room Songs” into more edgy beats crossing over. My favorite part of him is his quirkiness and jokes. He has a way to make the entire audience laugh. It was an emotional and inspiring night. I would highly recommend Olafur’s music and also to see him live! Check him out: https://soundcloud.com/olafur-arnalds

Image

