Celebratory Day

by funnylittlestories

Just to keep myself accountable, I will start posting my running progress here! I have successfully ran for a week straight! yay! Once a week i will do a long run and today I completed my 5 mile run. Next week Tuesday will be 6 miles!

On a side note, I have recently rediscovered this homemade remedy – barley water. These tiny grains are meant to have many health benefits including cooling the body on a hot summer day. I grew up forced to have a glass or two by my mom and now i am actually enjoying it so much that I have been making it daily. It is apparently not only an Asian drink but the Brits have it sold in bottles as well! Below is my own take on Barley water:

1/2 cup of Barley grains
1.5 liters of water
1 tsp of honey
few drops of lemon juice

Shimmer barley grains with the water for 20-30 minutes and add honey and lemon juice after! Tada!

Image

