Istanbul Food Diary

by funnylittlestories

My tummy travels with me! Good thing Hina and I were both adventurous and foodies. We scheduled our day based on lunch and dinner plans. It was definitely heaven for her as she indulged in all the syrupy goodness while I hunt for Turkish ice cream which turned out not as good as I had imagined! Although it was a bit of a hassle to hunt for vegetarian food (it ain’t easy being a traveling vegetarian), there are options if you search and they can be equally as amazing!

Image
There are many pastries and our first day was spent sharing 4 different baked goods. Beret was the yummiest. It comes either with potato, spinach or olives!
Image
A mountain of baklava
Image
Turkish tea/ cay is yummy. Turks have it with two sugar! 
Image
These nest are super yummy and definitely my favorite as it has less syrup! 
Image
Kunefe – cheese, rice vermicelli, syrup and pistachios
Image
Turkish omelette – tomato, chili and eggs scrabbled all together
Image
I personally don;t know the name but it is a syrupy stick with different colors! it sure is pretty but not too yummy!
Image
This was probably one of my best lunches! It was in the market behind Spice Bazaar and famous for its meat! I opted for a vegetarian option and it was satisfying. Smuk was sprinkled all over my salad and tasted so delicious!
Image
Hina and her baklava
Image
Ice cream and me

 

 

